New! LPI Certifications

November 29, 2010 by
Filed under: Lpi Level 1, Lpi Level 2, Lpi Level 3, LPIC 

The Linux Professional Institute (LPI) offers a series of Linux certifications (LPIC) aimed at professionals who wish to demonstrate general Linux skills and competencies from beginner through to senior level.

The Linux Professional Institute Certification (LPIC) program is designed to certify the competency of IT professionals using the Linux operating system and its associated tools. It is designed to be distribution neutral, following the Linux Standard Base and other relevant standards and conventions. 

The LPI certifications are vendor-independent and distribution-neutral which provides candidates with the opportunity to demonstrate all-round, general Linux skills, as well as providing a progressive certification path that may be viewed as more portable than a proprietary Linux certification. Additionally, the three separate tiers of the LPI (LPIC-1, LPIC-2 and LPIC-3) provide various starting points, and a natural progression, for candidates depending on their existing Linux skill level.

The three LPIC certification levels are:

  1. LPIC-1  Junior Level Linux Professional
  2. LPIC-2  Intermediate Level Linux Professional
  3. LPIC-3  Senior Level Linux Professional

Each level is a stand-alone credential in its own right, so candidates can choose to stop at any particular level. Each lower level, however, is a pre-requisite for each of the levels above it (i.e. LPIC-1 is required to qualify to take LPIC-2, and LPIC-1 and LPIC-2 are required to be eligible for LPIC-3).

All LPI exams are computer-based, meaning candidates sit at a remote computer terminal and answer a series of multiple-choice and short answer questions.


Comments are closed.