BICSI Electronic Safety and Security (ESS) Designer

April 14, 2011 by · Comments Off on BICSI Electronic Safety and Security (ESS) Designer
Filed under: BICSI, ESS 

The convergence of security systems like access control and surveillance onto the network places much of the responsibility for future security designs into the hands of information technology systems (ITS) professionals.

ESS Designer candidates are tested on their ability to understand and apply a vast collection of ESS technology and design information. Those awarded the ESS designation will demonstrate knowledge in:

  • Principles of security
  • ESS design process
  • Access control
  • Surveillance systems
  • Intrusion detection systems
  • Fire detection and alarm systems
  • Notification, communication, and display
  • Network security
  • ESS system integration
  • Project management
  • Systems operation and commissioning

Candidates for this designation are tested on the contents of BICSI’s Electronic Safety and Security Design Reference Manual (ESSDRM).

Requirements and Qualifications

To sit for the ESS Designer credential examination, you must have:

  • A minimum of two years of approved and verifiable design experience in electronic safety and security. Generic ITS/distribution system design or experience in another area of specialization is not acceptable.
  • Successfully completed the ITS Fundamentals examination or hold a current RCDD.

The ESS credential is valid for three years. Within each three-year registration period, all ESS Designers must obtain a minimum of 36 BICSI offered or approved continuing education credits (CECs). These CECs must be of a technical nature and directly related to the particular area of specialty within the ITS industry. Click here for additional renewal information.

Examination Information

  • Format: 2 hours, 100 questions, closed-book, true/false and multiple choice
  • Pricing: Members—$325 ; Nonmembers—$525
  • Exam Retake Fee (if applicable): Members—$110 ; Nonmembers—$285