Registered Communications Distribution Designer(RCDD) Certification

April 13, 2011 by · Comments Off on Registered Communications Distribution Designer(RCDD) Certification
Filed under: RCDD 

Information technology systems (ITS) professionals pursuing excellence within the industry should consider becoming a BICSI RCDD®.

Those awarded with the RCDD designation have demonstrated their knowledge in the design, implementation and integration of information technology systems and related infrastructure.

BICSI telecommunications distribution design courses serve as a career path for those seeking advanced knowledge in this area. Several design courses are recommended for candidates preparing to take the RCDD examination.

The RCDD status conveys instant advantages over the competition:

  • A professional designation of excellence
  • A highly regarded status recognized and mandated by many private and state organizations
  • A noted mark of design knowledge valued internationally
  • An indication of experience and knowledge known throughout the ITS industry

RCDD Requirements and Qualifications

To sit for the RCDD credential, you must have at least one of the following:

  • Five years ITS design experience
  • Two years verifiable ITS design experience and three years additional ITS equivalents chosen from combinations of experience, approved education and approved ITS license/certification

The RCDD exam, a comprehensive application- and knowledge-based exam, is based on content found in the 12th edition of BICSI’s Telecommunications Distribution Methods Manual (TDMM).

The RCDD credential is valid for three years. Within each three-year period, all RCDDs must obtain a minimum of 45 BICSI-approved continuing education credit (CEC) hours. As part of this 45-hour requirement, attendance in at least one BICSI conference during the three-year period is mandatory. The RCDD registration must be renewed every three years. 

RCDD Examination Information

Exam based on the TDMM 12th edition (beginning January 2010):

  • Format: 3 hours, 120 questions, closed-book, multiple choice (application- and knowledge-based questions)
  • Pricing: Members—$325; Nonmembers—$525
  • Exam Retake Fee (if applicable): Members—$110; Nonmembers—$285