LPIC-2 Certification (Intermediate Level Linux Professional)

November 29, 2010 by · Comments Off on LPIC-2 Certification (Intermediate Level Linux Professional)
Filed under: Lpi Level 2, LPIC 

The LPIC-2 certification is the second in a series of three Linux certifications offered by the LPI certification, sandwiched as it is between the LPIC-1 and LPIC-3. LPIC-2 certified individuals should have the skills and knowledge to be able to adequately plan and administer a small to medium sized network comprising of mixed platform workstations and servers, Internet gateways, firewalls, proxies etc., and have an all-round awareness of automation techniques and peripherals.

Candidates wishing to obtain the LPIC-2 certification must first pass the LPIC-1 before they can be awarded their certificate (although candidates who do not already hold the LPIC-1 credential can start with the LPIC-2 exams first if they wish – the LPIC-2 certificate will be withheld until the candidate then goes on to complete the LPIC-1 exams).

To gain the LPIC-2 credential, candidates must pass two exams (click on each link to go directly to the exam objectives):

  1. 117-201 (Lpi Level 2 Exam 201)
  2. 117-202 (Lpi Level 2 Exam 202)

The exams can be taken in any order, and candidates have up to five years to pass the second exam after successfully passing the first.

Each grouping of exam objectives is weighted differently meaning that some sections will be given more attention in the exam. Each exam consists of 60 questions in a 90 minute time frame and a passing score is 500 or more on a scale of 200-800, although due to ‘weighting’, the number of questions that a candidate must successfully answer in order to pass will vary from exam to exam. In some cases candidates will receive extra questions (referred to as ‘pilot items’) in their exam (making a total of 80 questions in total) and will be allocated extra time (120 minutes in total). The LPI uses these questions for research and evaluation purposes for future upgrades to the LPIC exams. These questions are not graded and do not count towards a candidate’s final score.

Read more

New! LPI Certifications

November 29, 2010 by · Comments Off on New! LPI Certifications
Filed under: Lpi Level 1, Lpi Level 2, Lpi Level 3, LPIC 

The Linux Professional Institute (LPI) offers a series of Linux certifications (LPIC) aimed at professionals who wish to demonstrate general Linux skills and competencies from beginner through to senior level.

The Linux Professional Institute Certification (LPIC) program is designed to certify the competency of IT professionals using the Linux operating system and its associated tools. It is designed to be distribution neutral, following the Linux Standard Base and other relevant standards and conventions. 

The LPI certifications are vendor-independent and distribution-neutral which provides candidates with the opportunity to demonstrate all-round, general Linux skills, as well as providing a progressive certification path that may be viewed as more portable than a proprietary Linux certification. Additionally, the three separate tiers of the LPI (LPIC-1, LPIC-2 and LPIC-3) provide various starting points, and a natural progression, for candidates depending on their existing Linux skill level.

The three LPIC certification levels are:

  1. LPIC-1  Junior Level Linux Professional
  2. LPIC-2  Intermediate Level Linux Professional
  3. LPIC-3  Senior Level Linux Professional

Each level is a stand-alone credential in its own right, so candidates can choose to stop at any particular level. Each lower level, however, is a pre-requisite for each of the levels above it (i.e. LPIC-1 is required to qualify to take LPIC-2, and LPIC-1 and LPIC-2 are required to be eligible for LPIC-3).

All LPI exams are computer-based, meaning candidates sit at a remote computer terminal and answer a series of multiple-choice and short answer questions.